About to finally start off a coco grow, just want to be double clear on watering.

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by KidKid, Apr 19, 2013.

1. From what I gather, I want to water until there is about 30 percent runoff. I should water whenever I feel they are drying up.

This sounds right?

Lastly, how much should I water seedlings.

2. I don't water that much your just throwing nutes n money down the drain. 10% run is plenty, when your pots are light it's time for more.

3. i find the almost bone dry then water till sufficient runoff as best method.

4. I like to water with at least 20% runoff.if you check the ppm's with the first bit of runoff you will notice them being perrty high.for example i feed with 800 ppms but when i test the first bit of runoff the ppms may be up around 1300 so i just keep watering untill i get a ppm reading coming out close to whats going in.i am a newbie on my first grow so that may or may not be right,but so far its working for me.

5. Bottom feeding seems to be taking a couple of weeks off of flowering. We water a 1/2 gallon every other day. Noticed that when you let them get too dry then they have to recover and it slows the process. This new way seems to be a winner for us. :D

6. How fast does the coco absorb the water when you bottom feed?

7. Coco wasn't such an easy medium for me to learn. I'm finding that if I let them get too dry, they seem to get a bit shocked. I've found that every two days is sufficiant so far. I probably let a little too much water run-off, but I've also had a difficult time dialing them in so I was always changing nute ratios and taking other issues "off the table" while I diagnosed. They seem to found their stride, and so have I. We're on our way to hopefully a successful first coco grow. My journal is in my signature if you wanna check out and throw in some input.

8. I am going to be going with the 6/9 micro/bloom with 1 tsp Epsom salt per gallon ( H3AD formula).