About graduating college with around a 2.0 gpa...

Discussion in 'General' started by Stoooooner, Apr 26, 2007.

1. I was just wondering, how bad is it - workwise after college - to graduate with a gpa in the low 2's? I'm in my third year at college and just declared my major last semester after switching around a couple times. I'm going to be here for at least 5 years for a 4 year major in Geography, and it's not that that I'm worried about..it's my gpa which is around 2.25 right now. I guess college and me haven't mixed all that well together..I'm not failing out or anything, but just barely above the required 2.0 for the college of liberal arts and sciences. I picked geography as my major last semester and am still in the 100 and low 200 level classes...making me feel somewhat dumb? I guess, compared to friends the same age who are well into their 300 level classes. I'm getting 3 B's and 2 C's right now...although I got a bad piece of news today when I read the fine print in my west. civ 205 syllabus - it says 2 absences are allowed, any more after that deducts 3% from your final grade. Well the teacher takes attendance most of the time but I guess I assumed around 5 absences were allowed since that's what it's been like in most of my classes, and this is a lecture class as well..and in previous classes the penalty wasn't as severe as 3%. I think I have probably 6 and possibly 7 or so misses...so basically I'm screwed in that class and lose at least 12% off the bat. I have an 8 page paper due in it on Friday and no matter how hard I work on that, and how well I do on the final, I'll probably still get a D in the class. This is just kind of depressing I guess...It's looking like it's gonna be another 2.0 semester, and still not into advanced classes. Sorry for this pointless ranting but I guess I'm starting to think I just may not fit in in college..kind of depressing. I DO try hard, it just feels as if grasping onto concepts and ideas is much harder for me than i