Abortion and Christianity

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by Mnemonicsmoke, Mar 20, 2012.

1. #1 Mnemonicsmoke, Mar 20, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 20, 2012
    Before I begin, I just want to say that this is not about should abortion be legal or not, its not even about whether its moral or not...hear me out...

I can't say i'm an expert on the subject per se, but i've definitely had in interest in the mechanisms by which ideas spread and evolve...

Very nearby where I live there is something called planned parenthood, this is a clinic whose one of many services include abortion. From what I understand its a very small percentage of the services they render. but whatever. Outside the buildings property you can nearly always see a group of dedicated Christians pleading for women to reconsider their abortions (they always assume they're getting an abortion) They advise them that there is alternative help and that the baby can always be given up for adoption. Always they're emphasizing the pain an abortion can have on a woman and some of the physical dangers as well.

Now the thing about this clinic, and others like it is that its free. People that genuinely go there for abortion are in most likely hood, the lower class. People that cannot make ends meet. Understandable...my point is that its interesting to note that if these women didn't have abortions the children that would grow up would probably also grow up in the lower class.

So my next point is: which demographic group is most likely to believe in the Christian Doctrine? Again i'm not a sociologist but at least it appears to be that the poor are very likely to adopt Christian (including catholic) views.

So there I observed a mechanism. Basically maximize the population (which inevitably leads to a higher population of the poor) Maximize Christians. What it seems like it to me really, is that the abortion issue is a vehicle for evangelism.