a lucas formula question

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by jimmie, Mar 15, 2009.

1. #1 jimmie, Mar 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2009
    i hear of people saying to shoot for a ppm range of
    1350 at .7 conversion
    my meter does .5 so do i shoot for 964?
    im using pbpgrow for veg and pbpbloom for flowering, somewhere i heard 15ml/gal and 5 ml/gal of calmag plus gets me the same(there abouts) as the lucas formula. is this correct?
    is this equation right for add back?

target current target ml rez
    964 - 0 = 964 / 964=1 x 15 =15 x16=240ml of bloom needed to reach 964 ppms?

what about my calmag plus ?it will be added too but dont know how to figure it into the equation?

2. How long have you been using the Lucas formula?

If the answer is: This is my first time. Then dont worry about 'add backs'. Just dump the rez every 10 days and refill with fresh. Focus on add back calculations once you have the experience to know when the numbers need to be ignored and the plant must be 'read'.

3. #3 HydroGanic, Mar 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2009
    There are NO ADDITIVES used when following the Lucas Formula. All it does is screw up the stability of the mix and cause additional pH chasing.

I'll probably be saying this for another 5 years until people catch on but here goes...... YOU DON'T NEED TO ADD CAL/MAG TO RO WATER WHEN USING THE LUCAS FORMULA. Thank you. :hello: I'll be here all night folks.

If you're getting what LOOKS like a deficiency with the Lucas Formula and RO water(Usually around day 30), adjust your pH to around 6.0 to 6.1 for a week or so and your girls will look spectacular. Let it drop back down to around 5.5-5.8 after that for the remainder of the grow.