a few questions. total beginner here

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Σypher, Sep 30, 2017.

1. Im making my own grow box for some homegrown weed and i have a few questions. I just want to keep the whole thing as cheap as possible, and as i live in norway, even the cheapest simplest things in the US, can be very expensive and hard to find here.

Anyways.
    My first question:
    Im making an airfilter with activated charcoal, and as i want to keep things as small as possible, i want the filter to be inside the box.
    So i cant make a traditional airfilter outside.
    I have a 0.5L can that ive hollowed out on each side and thinking about filling it with activated charcoal and have a sponge textured filter on each side to hold the charcoal in place.
    Im wondering how much activated charcoal i need and how much i can use in the can?
    If i use too much, then the air wont get through?
    If i use too little, it cant catch all of the smell?

My second question is about CFL lights:
    The only good priced CFL lights i can get here have 66 actual watts.
    And i have a setup for 8 lights.
    Will that give my plants 8x66watts?
    Or will it just give a better coverage of 66watts?
    And is 66watts enough?

Thank you...

2. 8 - 65 watts cfls is 360 watts, thats a nice amount for some plants! I know you said things are hard to find but is there anyway you can find a T5 set up? I think LEDs would be better than both but Im assuming LEDs are hard to come by there. T5s should be common even there.

I cant give you much help on a homemade carbon filter, Im sure youtube would be good for that.