8 week flower cycle, SOG

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by mordgrow, Sep 23, 2007.

1. im thinking of setting up a DWC system for SOG style grow, the root room for an 8 week flower cycle strait from rooted clone wouldnt have to be that large i'm thinking. I've noticed that I dont get a huge root ball untill after about about 10 weeks of veg, and in flower maybe there's less root growth ?

would i be able to get away with less of a rezivoir for an SOG grow due to the short duration of the plants life?

2. Welcome to the "Darkside" my friend......:cool:

3. My understanding is that roots grow faster in veg, so I'd imagine you could downsize a bit if you're going to induce flowering right after the clones root. I'm not an expert though, I'd get some other opinions too :)

4. Here's my basic idea.. 4-6 of these containers (except the ones im looking at are a bit taller than this, but there wont be much depth.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

think thats enogh root room?

5. I'd keep the bottom fully in tact, but on the sides I'd cut out the horizontal dividers just to help prevent crowding.

6. horizontal dividers? those baskets will go into holes i cut in the lid, the bottom will be full of liquid.

i think dividers would just cut down onlight.

7. Im liking your idea, and i was thinking of setting up a small hydro but where do you get all your supplies in our neck of the woods?

8. walmart, lowes / home depot, the local hydro shop..

I just get ideas and go find stuff that works for em ;)

its kinda fun

I think I found the perfect containers today!

9. Not sure what I meant by that but I'm sure it sounded brilliant to me at the time. I guess I was higher than I thought, lol

10. haha!

Here's how im thinking of setting up my room:
    [​IMG]

here's the container i'll be using (big blue things on the drawing)
    [​IMG]

Looks like i can fit 16 per side, or is this too crowded?
    [​IMG]