7th Floor owners please help SSV/DBV heating rod

Discussion in 'Concentrate Tools' started by JayStreet, Dec 24, 2014.

1. I have been using my DBV for a few months now. I noticed that ceramic heating rod isn't smooth like new ones appear. Instead, I am seeing texture on my ceramic rod. There are little bumps that are randomly popping up all over the rod. They don't come off, and I think they are bonded to the ceramic. They are white, and look identical to ceramic, except they are bumps. At first I thought these were flakes, but after trying to clean them off I realized that they are very stubborn and bonded to the ceramic.

I am concerned because, what if the ceramic is changing over time, and real easing flakes into the air path? Inhaling ceramic can cause very very serious problems.

I contacted 7th floor, and they said the bumps were normal. However, after asking some other DBV users it was unclear whether this is normal or not, because other users don't see the texture I am seeing on my ceramic rod. I also went to check out brand new units at local shops, and none had the bumps like I see, which indicates this is happening after the rod has been heated and cooled.

I'm no scientist, and I am really struggling to find out why this is happening.

Hopefully you can see in these photos:

Attached Files:

2. I wouldn't worry about it my wife and I each have a Silver Surfer both of our ceramic rods have a few bumps on them this seems to be normal after use . My theory is it could be slight blowback that instantly vaporizes and turns to ash when it touches the hot rod.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Grasscity Forum mobile app

3. But why would the ash make the surface bumpy? The bumps in my photo don't wipe off like ash...do yours?

4. #4 lwien, Dec 25, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2014
    You already got TONS of answers over at FC on this issue, here......http://fuckcombustion.com/threads/dbv-ssv-silicosis-risks-with-ceramic-heating-rods.16715/