550W HPS Jack Herer, Purple Kush hybrid...

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by clift, Jan 31, 2010.

1. And to make matters more complicated the room is located in a shed, with no insulation, and it regularly dips below -20 celsius where I am in the north. I'll get more details up later, for now I'm just testing these two plants to see if I want to grow out the clones. Enjoy the pics from the end of Week 8 flowering for the Jack Herer (huge one), and end of week 3 for the Indica.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The PK hybrid starting to show some color.
    [​IMG]

2. #3 clift, Feb 2, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2010
    Hey, this is not my first grow but it is my first time having to do it under such conditions. Outside, the average temperature where I live now is around -14c (6.8f), but sometimes can go much lower(especially with the windchill!) and my shed had no insulation whatsoever other than the building wrap under the siding. I have since constructed a small (3*3ft) grow room, and fitted it with (1)400W and (1)150W high pressure sodium light.

Growing only two plants in here at the moment while some clones take root. I have an exhaust fan at the top(unseen in pics) plus lots of air circulation thanks to 2 fans, one which generates heat while the lights are off. Also, I have a household radiator in there to help with the cold nights. The temperature inside the room is consistent around 24 degrees with the lights on, only off about 2 degrees when the lights go off. I decided to take caution and let it be a bit too warm as opposed to letting it get comfortably cooler since on a windy night who knows what could happen!

The ballast is a Lumatek one, it's digital and has done very well so far, lights up quickly and not a sound to be heard. The 150w is a security lamp with magnetic ballast but is dandy at secondary lighting!

Now on to the genetics.