400 watt single plant

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by HDGrower, Jan 16, 2017.

?

Will desired setup workout?

1. Yes

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. I am new to indoor growing and had a few questions/concerns hopefully I can get help with. Iplan to build a 1.5*1.5*7ft 400 watt growbox. I want to place bulb around 6-6.5 ft and enclose it with a piece of glass. Enclosed in the glass would also be 2 4" booster fans. Those fans would be only for light. I want the light so high for a reason. I will be growing mainly sativa strains and will scrog it so stretching is fine. I will be growing in a 5gal bucket with FFOF and not use any nutes until ready to flower since FFOF has enough already to veg with no prob. My question is go you feel that the light would stay cool enough in that area since it will be a stand alone bulb with no reflector enclosed in glass with 2 4" booster fans? My aim is to diminish heat from light and more less have fans for plant perdomiantly for co2 and not for cooling purposes. I was thinking 1 4" fan for intake about 3 ft up the box and in corners under my light 2 4" fans for exhaust. Let me know what you think

2. What kind of lights?

Attached Ballast?

3. 400 watt HP's and ballast will be close to my wall outlet. Them fuckers get hotter than the light lol. Basically,I'm cutting a hole running bulb and socket through it and enclosing it with a cpl fans a few inches above it on both sides

4. Think of it as a V. The light will be on the bottom of the V with the fans on the top edges of the V

5. It's all about how you manage the air flow when working with such a tight space. That then becomes a temperature management issue. 400W HPS is alot of light for a 1.5 X 1.5.

100,000 lux is the upper limit of tolerance for most strains. After that you start to see plant stressing from Chlorophyll bleaching and heat stress.