2 different plants, 2 different problems

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by RedWidow, Nov 18, 2013.

1. Hey all, I have 2 different leaves I cut off earlier in the pictures below. From my limited knowledge, it looks like the 1st is a deficiency and the 2nd looks like possible burn. Could anyone identify these problems ?! Any help is deeply appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. #2 AugustWest, Nov 18, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2013
    soil or hydro?

2nd pic looks like overfert.

1st i donno..

crazy question: do you smoke cigs?

3. Can you please explain the difference, between a deficiency, and nute burn ...? 

me?

is this a trick question? :p

5. Deficiency is lack of nutrient, nute burn is result of too much nutrient solution. And I'm growing in soil, and yes I do smoke cigs ! Does that have something to do with it do you think ?

6. #6 AugustWest, Nov 19, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2013

i'm no expert, but that first pic looks like tobacco mosaic virus.
    there's a sticky thread in this forum somewhere that explains it..

not saying that's what it is because TMV can be misdiagnosed easily, but it's worth having a read.

your second pic looks like too much nitrogen was added to the grow..

what do you feed and what type of soil mix to you use?

also do you check your PH at all?

7. If PH is over looked, nutrient build up can create a lock on the plants ability to absorb nutrients. If this happens, plants can become sensitive to the heat under the light. What some would mistake as "nute burn" or "light burn" can really just be "heat burn".

Plants that have a monitored PH, proper soil moisture, and get proper air flow can absorb all kinds of nutrients without burning. That's why when you over feed a plant under a low wattage light in a temp above 76, you get burned leaves.

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum