18gl tote aero set up questions

Discussion in 'Aeroponics' started by kilgor, Mar 10, 2011.

1. This is my first try with an aero set up. Im starting with a 18 gallon tote with six 3" net pots and a 500gph pump and im getting ready to make the manifold. I read that 50gph per 360 sprayer so I figure 10 heads on my manifold. I also was thinking of a couple heads shooting into water would that take to much away if I used 12 sprayer and would it be worth doing? Im starting with some veggies for first grow. My next question is how much water do i use in my tote? Next and final question for now is how often do I set up sprayers to spray. I thought I read or heard somewhere something like every 2 hrs mabye. Oh and what would be a good inexpensive nutrient setup. I was thinking of using this quick grow nute on ebay. The guy said use 5-11-26 for seedlings/veg and 10-5-10 for flower. Any and all info would be very appreciated and thank you for checking out my post:smoke:

2. I have a similar setup but not as big as pump as your going to use. Im just running a 132 pump with 10 sprayers and it does just fine. I use 5 gal in the tote with botanicare product's and have it spraying once an hour for 15mins. I added an airstone to the tote because the roots will be in the bottom of the tote and I didnt like the idea of my roots just laying in the water so I added more oxygen to the water quick and simple. Good luck and Im sure the more exp growers will lend a hand, Im just a newbie to aero myself.

3. Thanks Disk. That is great info. Yeah im using a 500 pump but I should be able to turn it down some and hook up a stone without having 2 pumps. I may use it also for a set up with the same size tote and 3 vinyl 4" X 4" posts I saw that would require alittle more muscle. Thanks again for your time and response.

4. Do you just put in your nutes when you change your water every week for that week?