10 Mixed seeds.. I wonder how many to germ.

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by killsig, Aug 8, 2012.

1. First of all, thank you to everyone here that provides so much useful information.. I hope to eventually become a valuable part of this community one day as well. :)

So I'll be starting up a small grow cab soon.. It'll be around 6'h x 3'w x 2'd..

I'm working on putting something together on the cheap... Got a 250 HPS on the way and will use a bunch of CFL's, will also build a carbon scrubber and so on...

I'm thinking of having a small mom/baby side split into two shelves (1'w x 2'd) and a flower chamber (2'x2' wide)...

I've dabbled with small grows over the years and between books and the internet, have done ridiculous amounts of research.

So I am by no means a pro, but have a good understanding and my last little grow a few years back turned out OK considering I was using a horribly old 400w MH that was given to me. (ya ya, shoulda spent the $20 on a new bulb).

Down to my question.. I guess this probably comes down to personal preference but I thought I'd ask for some opinions..

I got a 10 seed indoor mixed bag from Vancouver seed bank so really, I have no idea what strains I have.. haha.. I'm wondering how many I should germ.. The idea would be to germ some, veg em for a bit, sex them, and take clones of what look like the better plants or from a few plants to keep the different strains.

I guess the other factor is speed. If I germ 3-5 and end up with a bunch of males (hope not) it's going to slow the process down and of course like all startups, the idea is to get to smoke'n my own as quick as I can so I don't gotta buy it!

It seems like a much easier choice when I got a bunch of bagseed, now that I spent $50 I don't know what to do. I know $50 isn't a lot, but it kinda of is to me.. lol