$0 Recycled Stealth grow (First time grow)

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by Akkronos, Aug 21, 2012.

1. Hey guys, I'm new to all this and I guess I'm setting up just for shits and gigs.
    Currently I've set up a small grow cabinet out of recycled materials
    We have hard rubbish collection around my area where people put cabinets, t.v's, etc on the side-walk to be collected with rubbish. I also had some really old 30W CFL's with fixtures laying around + computer fans + cables + timers + CO2 tank. So basically this set up so far has cost $0

Here is a picture of what i've done so far. (I'm going to upgrade the lights to stronger tubes soon)
    Just installed lights, which plants will be elevated on racks up to about 2 inches away from the tubes
    [​IMG]

I still need to:
    ~ Install the 4 old computer fans I have in each side (With holes cut and light proofed)
    ~ Plumb a line for the occasional CO2 injection from a soda stream canister (maybe a second every week or two)
    ~ Lastly, I need to wrap the whole inside of the box with foil.
    Then I can look at seeds.
    Can anyone recommend how I might acquire seeds without people I know wanting to give any up and the strain i should look at growing?

Any advice or critisim is welcome on how I've set the box up so far.
    Just remember this is my first attempt at a grow and all materials are recycled so be kind.

(Moved from DIY section)

2. Dont use foil its doesnt handle heat well. Use mylar. YOu can buy it in rolls or buy it on the cheap by buying an emergency blanket which is made of mylar, they are like $5 max

3. Matte white paint is the shit.. get kitchen and bathroom for extra moisture dealing properties... any matte white will do though.

4. Dammit, I thought about doing this first when i thought of using foil.
    however i've already spray glued foil... i'll be able to take it down though.
    as for the matte white. i'll spray that over the floor as well as the cracks/ crevices.