Growing on a mountain advice (pics)

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by jayyyb, Apr 9, 2013.

1. #1 jayyyb, Apr 9, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 9, 2013
    Hello everyone.

I am preparing for my first grow (on a mountainside). As I'm an absolute beginner to this, I'm looking for some advice.

First up, below are pictures of the surrounding earth I'll be planting into:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Now, in terms of location, so far I have identified two areas on the mountain.

The pictures taken below were taken at around 12pm so you can get an idea of where the sun will be.

Option 1: (NW facing side of mountain)

As you can see from the crude picture, the sun comes up over the back of the mountain, and then dips over the other side.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Option 2: (SE facing side of mountain)

Again, you can see the direction the sun travels, there is also less tree cover here.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

What do you think?

How would you prepare the area that I intend to plant into? It may look relatively dry at the moment, but it gets very humid round here during the summer - hopefully the altitude will do me some favors with regard to this.

I will be doing further recon to see whether I can find a better area, however this appears to be the most private option available (even though it is a very remote location, better to be safe than sorry).

I'm slightly worried about the shade caused by the surrounding trees.

Be gentle with me, I'm pretty new at this!

Apologies for the size of the pictures.

Thanks for reading!

2. no mountain growers on here eh?

Ok... well if no-one has an opinion on location, how about prepping the seeds?

Should I start in pots at home? or start on the mountain... I'm worried about how they will react when I take them outside (change of environment and all)