soil question

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by chrisouth, Apr 25, 2012.

1. I know that they say that there is no such thing as a stupid question but I am sure some of you will consider this a "stupid question". Im actually a little embarrassed to even ask this question considering that I already have a few grows under my built (mostly hydro) and I am pretty sure that I already know the answer but to play it safe because I have spent a substantial amount on seeds for this growing season, I just want to make sure Im correct. So here is my question. When reading different soil mixes such as
    40% composted soil
    30% worm castings
    20% perlite
    10% dolomite

They are talking about percent by volume and not by weight. correct?

I know I sound like a complete newb but as far as outdoor grows go, I have always had a partner who dealt with mixing our soil. Last year I grew Himalayan Gold, Lemon skunk, and Twilight which all turned out good. The H.G. was a really good yielder but the lemon skunk was so much more potent. as for the twilight, it was just soso.
    I plan on starting a grow journal finally for this grow. Below is my order from attitude but they are not all mine since my bro went in half with me but I am definitely looking forward to get em going. got 30 in the paper towels as we speak and every one has popped. I will probably wait another day or two before I throw em in some light warrior with about 1/5 ocean forrest. Same method as last year and had 100% germ rate.

Product: Green House Seeds Big Bang Feminized
    Options: Feminized Seeds Per Pack - 05 Seeds
    Quantity: 1
    Product Code: GH16BFEM/GH16AFEM
    Price: $23.77

Product: Green House Seeds Big Bang Feminized
    Options: Feminized Seeds Per Pack - 10 Seeds
    Product Code: GH16BFEM/GH16BFEM
    Price: $39.62

Product: Green House Seeds The Church Feminized
    Quantity: 3
    Product Code: GH13AFEM - GH13BFEM/GH17AFEM
    Price: $85.57