Soil recycling thread

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by howmanymoreyrs, Jul 22, 2010.

1. Hola amigos!

So I did a search on the above topic, and was surprised to see there wasn't a thread for this. I know there are a lot of people who do this with great success. I just started doing this myself, and I am blown away at what is happening in my 22 gallon Rubbermaid. No $15.00 per bag soil has EVER looked this dark, rich, and lush as these "leftovers" that I used just chuck in the bin. So...

Do you recycle your soil? What is your method? What ammendents, minerals, meals, if any, do you replenish with?

2. howmanymoreyrs

Thanks for starting this thread. There are any number of benefits on 'recycling' potting soil with the main one being that it makes sense. Things making sense is important in my view of the world.

Basically, here's what I've been doing for a couple of years and have gotten a dozen or so medical growers around here to put it into their process and all agree that the potting soils only get better over time.

Once the plants are harvested, I remove the root ball (intact) from the pots and they're hit with 4x strength of EM-1 solution which breaks down the root hairs but leaves the aerobic microbe colonies pretty much intact. Besides breaking down the dying/dead root hairs, the EM-1 also provides food for the microbe colonies so that they're expanding and not dying.

After about 4-6 weeks, the root balls are no longer intact and at that point I add 1/3 the amount of seed meal that I would use on a new soil. I don't believe that there's much need to reapply minerals because these take years and years to break down.

Before this soil is used, I add in some organic rice hulls because it takes them about 4-6 months to break down so when that occurs I know that on the next flip I'll want to add more EWC and thermal compost with the appropriate amount of pumice (50-50), regular amount (1.5 - 2 cups) of the seed meal mix, etc.