Alfalfa Meal

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by THCweed, Jun 25, 2010.

1. Is dehydrated alfalfa meal still ok to use for plant? This is all ican get. If so i can just lay it around my plants and water it in? or mabey mix with water? i also just picked up some blacksrap molasses, i just mix it with the water right? thanks alot for the help, im new at this

2. wat about fresh alfalfa,n how do I use it?

3. Never used alfalfa myself, so I don't know dosages, but it's good stuff. Browse through LumperDawgz posts, seem to remember he had some info on it. Maybe in the comfrey tea thread?

As far as fresh alfalfa, you'd want to turn it under your soil for a season, or compost it, or dry and powder it as best you can.

Molasses, I give it maybe twice weekly in veg. AACTs once monthly, molasses bi weekly at 1 tbs per gallon to keep everything nice and fed. I also use a liquid fish/kelp, usually once mid veg, and will switch over to that bi weekly for the first half of flowering. Then, molasses every water for the last two to three weeks, at one tsp per gallon. Note the different levels, a tablespoon of molasses goes a long way if you're feeding it every water. "Every water" is kind of misleading too, as I usually cycle it as 2-3 feedings, and one small flush out.

4. Alfalfa meal is a great organic addition to your soil as well as an ingredient in a tea. Using it in your soil will give you a good supply of nitrogen, as well as vitamins, minerals and growth hormones. Alfalfa meal also has Triacontanol, a plant growth hormone.

You can also use it by making a tea. I use 1.5 cups alfalfa meal, 1 cup EWC, a couple of tbsps of molasses and aerate for 24 hours. You can also make it without the EWC, I just like it for the microbe infusion. You can strain it and foliar spray and/or use as a soil drench. The leftover solids can be fed to your worms or composted back into your ready to re-use soil.