Alfalfa Grass

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by gdaddypurp21, Feb 28, 2010.

1. Ok, so I was in Super Wal-Mart yesterday picking up a double outlet air pump for a new AACT brewer I made, and while in the pet dept. I noticed Alfalfa Grass; This particular grass was intended to feed pet rabbits etc. but it was 100% Natural Sun Cured Alfalfa Grass. Now the reason I point this out, is because it made me wonder; Could this possibly be an addition (not substitution) to ppeat moss/Coco Coir. I'm sure that the grass has no where near the water retentiveness in it, however it could provide some aeration to the soil. Along with aeration, it would slowly feed the bacteria the essential foods thus allowing the slow release nitrogen into the plant. Plus there's the decomposition of it as it sits in the soil, thus providing more food and nutrients. Now I'm no expert in this field it was just a light bulb that came on in my head, so I purchased it. It was 3.95$ and funny enough came out to be after tax $4.20 (I actually chuckled in store; a sign maybe?) anyways just looking for the usual thoughts.

• Funny Funny x 1
  2. I would call the company and check to see if it is organic non-gmo..100% natural means nothing , just marketing words.

I use alfalfa in my AACT and soil mix, but in fairly small amounts..

3. Alfalfa grass is a good cover crop.......deep roots for aeration and when tilled in has N. Not sure how the fresh grass would fit into the growing paradigm, but interested nonetheless.

chunk

4. It is indeed organic, I simply wrote the natural suncured part so people would have an idea on what to look for incase this turned into something.

5. My bad.....didn't read the sun cured part.......was thinking it was alive:D

6. gdaddypurp21