Zach's Grow Cabinet Build

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by WowZach, Feb 15, 2013.

1. #1 WowZach, Feb 15, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2013
    This all started with an older TV cabinet which was no longer in use because everyone has a flat panel TV so I got the cabinet for free. I did a ton of research before I started this build am always wanting it to be the best so if you see anything that can be improved upon please feel free to critique. This is my first build soon to be my first grow so input from vets is appreciated.

In the upper portion of the cabinet I will be using a 250 watt hps/ mh light and in the lower portion I will be using CFL. I haven't decided if i will be doing my starts in the lower portion and finishing in the upper or growing autoflower in the lower and regular plants up top.

Ventilation for the system will be using a 4 inch inline 160 cfm fan pulling air and heat from the top of the cabinet and putting it all through a carbon filter. Air intake will be on the bottom of the cabinet through two 2" inlets in the lowest portion of the cab. Air will flow through five 1 1/2" holes in the middle shelf of the cabinet that seperates the upper and lower units. Each hole has a piece of rubber tubing on the inside of it with a 3/4" pvc elbow attached to a 10" piece of pvc (pictures below) to keep light from passing from the top to bottom of the cabinet.

[​IMG]

This is the cabinet I started with.

[​IMG]

Most of the parts I used for the build, 6 outlet power strips x4, bulb receptacle to 110 outlet for CFL bulbs to plug into x6, roll of mylar, 4" duct fan, 1 ft of 1 1/4" tube, 4 ft of 3/4" pvc cut into five 10" pieces, five 3/4" pvc elbows, 1 roll of bracket tape, 1 roll of electrical tape, 100w equivalent 26w actual cfl bulbs x6, 1 1/2" and 2" hole saws, 3ft of 2" pvc cut into 2 one and a half ft sections., two 2" pvc elbows, light timer x2, 3m spray adhesive, 1 tube gorilla glue, 1 tube of white caulking