Meet my Fridge!

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by ghunter, Jan 19, 2010.

1. #1 ghunter, Jan 19, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2010
    Greeting all! I've been lurking a long time. First post. I am a total noob and haven't done a grow yet.

I'd like to introduce you to my fridge. He's been in the planning stages for a long time but now he's done. I don't know why he is a he, but he is.

[​IMG]

Originally he was going to be used purely for stealth, hacked up hard otherwise but when I finally got moving on this and found a fridge graveyard I realized that I had my pick and this one was too pretty to tear up so this became an obsession at that point. I wanted it stealthy, safe, good looking, as few holes as possible and of course usable.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

He is capable of maintaining anywhere from 60 to 90 degrees in the current 40 degree environment.

1) Handy dandy temp and humidity checker thing
    2) Carbon Filter going out through one of three holes that needed to be cut
    3) 12v PC Fan #1 runs all the time
    4) PVC Light Trap painted flat black inside transfers air, not light and is used as a conduit for wires.
    5) El Cheapo light strip just to provide light to work in, better lighting when we need this space for other things :D

Tada!

[​IMG]

Keeping the water in the door keeps it the same temp as the plants but also helps hold some heay in the dark periods. Something I initially struggled with. To the right is one of the shelves with the inards removed and my best attempt at weaving some wire for a Scrog screen someday.

[​IMG]

I chose to power as much as I could from a PC Power Supply. I had a bunch of them around, 12 volts is safer, it has an on/off switch and I was hoping to get some heat off of it. That part didn't work out. Only running the fans didn't produce any heat.

6) Other end of light trap/conduit
    7) Timer running 18/6 at the moment