clone question

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by thegrowguy, Nov 8, 2006.

1. <TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0 UNSELECTABLE="on"><TBODY><TR height="100%" width="100%" UNSELECTABLE="on"><TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNSELECTABLE="off">this is my first time indoors and i was wondering how and when do i clone from the mother plant? thanks
    </TD></TR><TR UNSELECTABLE="on" hb_tag="1"><TD style="FONT-SIZE: 1pt" height=1 UNSELECTABLE="on">
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

2. When she's ready to give 'em, and how, just chop them off and plant them!

The important thing to remember is that a clone has the same genetic age as its parent. So, if the mother plant is four weeks old, and you make a clone; two weeks later, the clone is six weeks old, genetically speaking. In other words, plant maturity is what matters.

When a cannabis plant is ready to flower, its branching growth will change from symmetrical, to alternate (a young plant looks regimented, but as it matures, looks like it's going for a spiral). Waiting gives you higher yields, but from the point the branching changes, the cannabis plant has expressed it's desire to flower (like a teenager, you might say; too young for serious sexual activity, but it would work.)

You can take clones from a mother plant at any stage of her life (so long as she hasn't gone into flowering - too late!) and they will root successfully. So long as a mother stays in veg, she's never too old to give up clones. Whether they will give you bumper yields or not depends on whether the clone is itself mature enough to do that, i.e. finish its life cycle.

You didn't give any deatails about the plant, its strain, age, your particular growing style, or anything, so I can't give you an exact figure.