Everything Parkour!

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by Radioactive_Kid, Oct 26, 2009.

1. So with this new sport on the scene i figured there are some people looking to start up, and better their skills. I've been training for about 3 years now, and i've helped and trained many of my friends. So here's what you'll need to get started:

-Good shoes, Something with lots of cushion, absorbs impact, and lots of support. (Basketball shoes are greaat if you're on a budget, If not i personally recommend a high end pair of Asics, K-swiss Ariake are specifically made for parkour. If you have any questions on shoes please visit Shoes for Parkour : Parkourpedia)

-Internet connection and a computer for online tutorials

-Confidence

Some General Terms you'll need to know:
    Traceur- Practitioner of Parkour (female practitioners are called traceuse)
    Sponersheep- Noobie Traceurs who are "decorating their tour bus" before they have mastered even some of the basic movements.
    Flow- To move or run smoothly with unbroken continuity
    Hotspot- The location of a great spot that most people know about and use
    Bail- What you do when you're not confident
    Vault: Any jump that incorporates the use of the arms to overcome the obstacle.
    Roll- The most important part of parkour, and can be tricky to master

The basic vaults you'll need to learn and master.

• Monkey vault : Two hands are placed on obstacles and both legs are pulled up in a squat position and practitioner pulls himself/herself over.
    • Lazy vault : One hand is used to swing both legs over an obstacle and the other to carry oneself over
    • Speed vault : A jump sideways but in the center of the obstacle one hand is used to push oneself forward.
    • Kong vault : A dive motion, but at the tip of the obstacle, the hands are used to push up and the legs are put in a monkey position.
    • Dash vault : Jump first, then place hands down to carry oneself over.