$50 HPS Guide

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by biggie2pac, Apr 17, 2011.

1. I posted this in Absolute beginners, but that thread got derailed, and it really belongs here anyway. so here it is

So after finding a 150w HPS for only $39.90 on e-conolight I had to see what the deal was with it. Shipping was only $10. I read some guides on older models that e-conolight doesn't carry anymore, so I thought I'd make a guide on this one.

here are materials list:
    1. the light
    2. decent length bits of good quality wire. i stripped mine out of a power cable for a cd burner.
    3. any pc power supply or extension cord or other grounded ac plug
    4. a nut and bolt (or a substitute, read the post)
    5. screwdriver/scissors/electrical tape/derptools
    6. (optional) clasps to make your ballast removable.

I didn't take pics along the way, but I have a lot of pics to demonstrate what I'm talking about. Here's the stock photo of the light, this is what it looks like when you get it, fully assembled.
    [​IMG]

you could hang the light like this but it'd get extremely hot and weighs almost 9 pounds. everyone prefers a remote ballast, and thats what this guide is all about.

when you open the glass and remove the bulb, there are three screws. two by the socket, and one on the other side. they're easy to find. once they're gone, the socket will be loose and the reflector will come out easily. with the reflector out, this is what you're left with (but with the socket in there instead of the bits of wire i have leading out, i'll explain those later)
    [​IMG]

The socket is attached by two wires, black and white.
    [​IMG]
    cut them both, but leave length on both sides of your cut.

at this point i like to reattach the socket to the reflector. just line the holes up, theyre already there, and put a bolt through it and attach a nut on the other side to secure the socket in place.
    [​IMG]