Topping vs Tying Down

Discussion in 'Plant Training' started by MuddyTires, May 7, 2010.

1. Hey yall im in the procss of my first grow. I will be transplanting to an outdoor location soon. I've been reading up trying to do my HW for upcoming stages. I've found out alot of great info about topping and tying down but im still debating the pros and cons. Please help me out, as i dont have enough info to make a decission right now (although i guess i have a little while)

Pros:Topping
    -plants wont get too tall
    -higher yield? ( ive heard both schools of though say "oh, _____ method produced more")
    -shorter bushier plants dont have sterotypical weed plant look

Cons:Topping
    -any quality or potency lost by putting the plant through the period of shock?
    -since im very new to this, possible messin my grow up? or it it easier than it sounds

--------------------------------------------

Pros:Tying Down
    -once again, plants wont be tall
    -higher yield?
    -premotes branching
    -more sun coverage

Cons: Tying Down
    - if i do this wrong or too quickly i could accidently snap the trunk
    -ive also heard that tied down plants are more vaunerable to damage in a storm

any advice on either of these from you experienced growers would be appreciated. i realize both have their pros and cons and both are good techniques. just looking for some personal advice from some people taht have done it before :confused_2:

thanks yall

2. i think you are way too preoccupied with how difficult these practices are...both are simple as can be! you can easily use both techniques in conjunction to create awesome little bushes. with tying down outside, i suppose would you risk a greater chance of getting muddy buds or animal attack.

I'm personally a fan of Fimming over topping...3 tops!