HELP! yellowing seedling & leaves pointed up

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by rumpled, Feb 9, 2009.

1. hey guys, im somewhat new to growing. i grew 2 times before but i dint really know what i was doin and i didnt finish the grow.

i have 3 seedlings and they all are pretty yellow and the leaves are pointed up to the light but they arnt stretched out at all. plus i have a 400 watts high pressure sodium light on them which i keep on about 12 hours a day. and i have 4 26 watt cfl lights on them 24/7 but they are 27k bulbs. i only keep the sodium light on half the day cuz of electricity and heat.

i have them in cut off 2 liter bottles right now till i transplant them. they are in Scott's premium soil. i water them like every 3 days when the soil gets mostly dry and i havnt used any fertilizer

i dont have a Ph tester or anything. i dont have any food either. im pretty broke right now cuz i just had to spend a lot of money on other stuff.

does anyone know what would cause my plants to be so yellow? they are MUCH yellower than in the pics. i had to use my cell phone that takes crappy pics. i need some advice. they seem like they are doing so good besides being yellow

also since im on a budget, if i only had $20 to spend what to you think i should buy? new soil? food? ph tester? also the only place i can go to get stuff is walmart or kmart, and i dont have a CC to order online. so i cant get like foxfarm stuff.

THANKS!

2. pics

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Attached Files:

3. well that soil is prolly acidic and burning the poor little girl you need better soil for sure, and for lighting you need to be using the 6500k CFL's during veg and those 2700k ones for when your in flowering. and you need to start with MH (Metal Halide) it gives off a blue spectrum ideally suited to the vegitative stage of the plants life. then later u can use ur HPS it gives off a red spectrum, and is ideal in the flowering phase of the plants life.:wave: