Weed and working out/muscle gain

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by chikyosci, Dec 18, 2011.

1. Sorry if there's a topic on this already or something.

Five months ago I stopped using weed because our school sent letters regarding drug use in the school. The administration was encouraging honest students to come forward and give names or known users and dealers so out of fear and a slight urge to control my addiction, I stopped. (Thankfully it was just an empty threat since we haven't had a single test

Since then I did a lot of detox shit drinking lots of liquids, working out, etc. Anyway, I started lifting weights since then and a few weeks ago my friend mentioned that weed relaxes your muscles therefore in a way you lose what you worked out. He didn't really have any facts to support it aside from his body not aching at the slightest despite rarely ever working out (Your muscles naturally don't hurt much anymore if you do it often apparently)

So fast-forward, I started smoking weed socially again like last month and I just wondered if my friend's claims are true in anyway. Basically what I'm asking is if I smoke after a work out (not necessarily directly after) will I really lose what I worked out in that session?

I did some google searches and they're mostly forum results. One has an anti-drug bias and it's just telling the OP to quit, etc. The ones from a more liberal forum aren't helping either.

Thanks to anyone who replies :)

2. I'll tell you from years of heavy personal use as a water polo player no.

3. Oh my god, thank you sir! I was waiting a while for that answer. Just came back from the gym a few hours ago and was urging for a toke. Good to know I can do it now.

Cheers!

4. Zero related man, if anything vape to be 100% healthy, working out is tearing muscle fibre, food rest is what makes them grow, what does weed do? Give you good sleeps and munch food all the time , seems perfect fit