First time outdoor grow

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Jdgerber, May 18, 2011.

1. #1 Jdgerber, May 18, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2011
    Hey there boys and girls, this is my first time growing and wanted tips and tricks. Germinated three seeds in plastic cups with home made compost and three with paper towels and ziplock. Two of the cup ones sprouted and one of the zip locks did. (I over watered I think) so I have three little girls (fingers crossed) all in cups now chillin in the back woods in a lil clearing. I have a pretty sweet permanent grow site about a mike from my place. Main things I'm curios about is taking care of the girls as they gets older and what time of year will they bud and be ready for harvest. Also when should I transplant from cups to grow site? Thx dudes and dude-ets!
    I'll get some pics of the grow site next time I'm there (tomorrow lol)

Attached Files:

2. Welcome to GrassCity gerber!

You are going to want to transplant in about two-three weeks depending on how fast they are growing. Put some ductape around those clear plastic cups ASAP! Didn't you ever learn that roots don't like light? :p

They will begin to bud in mid to late July depending on your location and the strain. These are bagseed I am assuming so, will probably be some late harvesting sativas, mid October anyone?

I am hoping this is just a fun experiment you want to do, not expecting anything massive are we?

3. Thx brosham I'll hop on the duck tape. When I transplant I'm plan in on digging out a hole like 4th wide and 2ft deep and filling it with organic potting soil. Sound about right? And should I be using any fertilizers soon and what type? They r still really young I planted just last week.

4. No fertz yet dude! That's like giving steroids to a baby. It will die :D.
    Instead of digging a 4ft x 2ft hole, dig 3 different 1.5x1.5 holes for each of your plants. Organic potting soil is fine, any brand you have in mind?