First Time Grower- Apartment Closet Grow

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by athensman, Feb 28, 2011.

1. As the title states, I'm a first time grower, looking at doing a closet grow. Well, I guess technically it is a grow box, which will be in a closet. I am a college age student, and I have lived in this complex for eight months now. Never had any check ups from management or anything like that. So I am pretty comfortable with my surroundings. I know one set of neighbors blazes as well, so that's good, but not so sure about the others near by. There is a police officer who lives in the complex about a hundred yards from my building, so I definitely want to keep odor management a top priority.

The closet itself goes wider than the opening out of the wall, and has metal sliding doors, so the cabinet will fit nicely with space behind and to the left and right.

The box I plan to use is a Shop Stor-it-all 70"H x 48"W x 24'D. I already think I will need to reinforce the box a little to suit my needs, but that is fine. I plan on purchasing a 400 Watt HPS lighting system/ballast. I think I am going to just paint the inside of the cabinet flat white, but I also am considering doing mylar. Is it worth it?

I'm going to get a 6 in inline duct fan for the exhaust, equipped with one of the DIY carbon filters from this site. Also a simple fan for the intake, even though I know it's debatable on whether you need it or not. I planned on putting the exhaust fan at the top of one side and the intake on the bottom of the other, so as to be hidden inside the closet. Also was thinking about an oscillating fan on the inside to keep the air circulating.... I read some where on here as long as you aren't blowing the plants over or damaging that circulation and heat management are a good thing.

I also planned on investing in a pH checker. And of course the appropriate soil and nutrients.