Can't commit to anything creative. Ideas?

Discussion in 'The Artist's Corner' started by Sunn, Nov 16, 2010.

1. I apologize in advance, because this is going to be a long post about my history in the creative fields and whatnot. I feel like its necessary since there's a lot to my particular problem, so hopefully you give it a read because it's pretty important to me.

As the title says, I have trouble finishing anything creative. I've always been described by everyone close to me as being very creative, and I would agree. As a child I was always writing short stories and poems, and everyone in my family and at school thought I was a great writer. I also had great musical ability. I could hear a song one time and remember exactly how it went, and could hum it back or play it note by note on a piano (once i figured out the notes). I was always singing, and my parents told me I was great at it. Actually, they made me do chorus at school for 2 years, although I don't know how good I was and I never really enjoyed it while I was there. I also loved art, any kind really, unfortunately I wasn't very good at making it. I was terrible at drawing anything. I could remember almost any image, and visualize perfectly anything I wanted to draw, but I couldn't get it from my head to the paper (or any other medium). I was slightly better at 3D artwork, but always just ended up drawing boring, straight, geometric shapes and stuff (so many cubes). Despite all this, i never took writing lessons or classes, never learned to play an instrument, never took singing lessons or sang outside my own house, and never took any art classes besides what was required. And as I started getting older, I stopped writing, stopped playing on the piano, stopped singing, and stopped drawing.