How much space will a 1000 watt HPS cover?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by immapwner, Apr 22, 2010.

1. Sorry if this is a stupid question. I've never used hps bulbs before, I've been using CFL's and T5's. But now i'm upgrading.

I have a 6'x6' closet, and I was wondering if I could put a 1000 watt in the middle and it work for the entire room? I'm looking at this light with the euro reflector instead of the max wing (for air cooling):
    High Tech Garden Supply

I'm just unsure of a light source that's only 19"x11" being able to light up a 6'x6' to 10'x10' area like the ad suggests.
    I would really like some input from people with experience on this.

Also I was planning on using the dyer hook up in my apartment for exhaust, do I still need to get a carbon filter, or will people be unable to smell it?

Thanks.

2. #2 custom280Z, Apr 22, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 22, 2010
    dude i'm going to be straight wqith ya...a 600 watt is better..way more efficient by far(power vs lumen output...)
    a 1000 watt will do an 8x8 room..but create a ton of heat and about 145-150,000 lumen's...
    a 600 watt is 400watt's less on your power bill and gives you 95,000 lumen's....that's a major increase in efficientcy...
    i order from htg all the time. got a few of there system's actualy...great company!
    there digital 600 watt with a good bulb and everything is 199$ or you can get the air cooled for around 250$ all digital too...way better imo..run cooler, less on power bill, more light output, and your hps system will strike both MH and HPS bulb's...no need for conversion bulb's but that joker will strike those too! no problem! 5 years service on them, and your bulb's last way longer in the digital system than a oldskool style(non digital)