lst vs supercropping vs topping vs FIMing for more yield

Discussion in 'Plant Training' started by johnjohn, Apr 9, 2010.

1. I have never used any of these techniques before, just grew the plants naturally, but now I want to try one of them. Obviously, I am looking for best yield I can get, I cannot change the 3 gallon buckets and 600watt lights, but I can try one of the methods above to get a larger final product.

I have read about each technique and have a basic understanding but I was wondering what is your personal preference and why?

I am growing white widow and bubblegum strains indoors in good organic soil.

2. Sounds YUMMY!

I'm gonna try LSTing my upcoming venture.....oh, I can't WAIT!!!

3. ok, let me ask this better:

1. what is the advantage of supercropping vs lst, why not just tie down and bend instead of almost breaking the stem?

2. FIMing seems better than topping if you get more than 2 from 1 but what if you fuck up on the FIM cut, would you still get at least 2?

I am considering doing a combination of topping and lst but I am questioning setting up a SCROG instead.... anyone?

4. LST is by far the easiest in my opinion. It is, after all Low Stress, and allows you to fill up your growing space however you want by slowly leading the plant around the circumference of your pot. Once the secondary growth is to a desirable height, you can tie it down again and again, creating many horizontally directed shoots, or flower it, as long as it's had at least about a month to six weeks in veg.

Topping and FIMing is advantageous however because it creates a nice groundwork to work with. It's much easier to tie down a plant that has two to six branches rather than one meristem. But I wouldn't do it more than once or twice, because each branch is about half of what it would have been had it never been topped/FIMed. That's why I only do it once, usually once its rooted (cloned) or three nodes up (from seed) I don't like it better than LST, though.