Welcome to Grasscity Forums - Register now for FREE
Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute.
Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Create an Account

Can you clone a clone?

• Please log in to reply

Damien_X

Damien_X

• Registered Upgraded
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
I'm very new to growing so I apologize if this is a stupid question. Also, how many times can a plant be cloned? Thanks.

Similar Topics: Can you clone a clone?     x

Postal Blowfish

Postal Blowfish

• Banned by Moderators
  • 14,597 posts
When you see people talking about their "mother" plants, they're talking about a clone they took from a plant that later turned into a strong female. That plant then is meant to be the mother for more clones, thus, yes, you can clone a clone.

As far as I know, any living plant can be cloned but you have to be mindful that their current condition at cloning is inherited by the clone. Thus you don't clone a flowering plant intending to make it a mother. A clone from the flowering plant would produce a flowering clone.

Damien_X

Damien_X

• Registered Upgraded
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
Sweet. Thanks for the quick reply.

stopsnitchin

stopsnitchin

DTA!

• Registered Upgraded
  • 614 posts
cloning a clone causes genetic drift. keep a mother and clone off that

Damien_X

Damien_X

• Registered Upgraded
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
I thought clones were supposed to be genetically the same? So the clone from a clone will be different from the original plant that started off as a seed?

Mr. Halide

Mr. Halide

3000 Degrees Kelvin

• Registered Upgraded
  • Pip
  • 4 posts