So I'm about 10-15% done with my first novel

Discussion in 'General' started by NFloyd2357, Jun 8, 2009.

1. it doesn't sound like much, but I'm pretty excited. I always knew i was a great writer, but i never thought i'd have the patience or ability to write a novel. I was more an essay/article type writer. Well I'm stoked, and just had to share lol. I got 6,777 words right now and I'm on my 20th page. The story keeps developing more and more in my head and its working out so much better than i initially thought. Not gonna lie, i've been under the influence of some kind of drug for at least 15 pages, a decent amount of adderall. I kind of just quick write - and then re-read and edit, re-read and edit, over and over again.

It's insanely metaphorical, and is written the way my mind thinks, so it kind of jumps sporadically - Its told mostly from the viewpoint of the main characters experience, and also from the antagonists journal entries. It centers around one event, and each chapter alternates - one being before the main event, the other being after. The whole thing is really a bunch of metaphors within one huge one - i hope my readers (even if its just one) pick up on that. Its fictional, including all the events - but they are metaphorical events that allow me to show my actual (biographical, as the author) views, emotions and mental processes. I think its pretty cool, and i just wanted to share.

the point:

-when I was a kid, I never thought I could play a musical instrument. I got a guitar in seventh grade, and can now play several instruments, consider music my passion and consider myself a pretty decent musician.