Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

What IS the dark brown goo we clean from our pipes?

Discussion in 'Seasoned Marijuana Users' started by Arborist1212, Feb 10, 2009.

1. I'm an Arboriculture student at UMASS Amherst, and I have taken a few botany classes. I've been smoking for years but have never been so interested in the physiological aspects of Cannabis sativa. I have a few brief questions.

1. We all know what is actually commonly refered to the "bud" is actually the flower of the plant, but where on the flower are the pistols and stamens? (not just the locations, but a short description)

2. When during the flowers transition from bud to bloom, is it harvested? If it was harvested while still in an early bud stage, I would understand why it is called bud.

3. What is the dark brown goo that we clean from our pipes? We've all scraped out a highly viscous goop from our pipes, that looks slightly like melted dark chocolate. Is this tar from the smoke? Or vaporized sap (resin) from the plant that cools and condenses on our pipes' wall?

I'll have some more questions posted later, and more on the way.

TSOCS - The Science of Cannabis sativa -

2. Well #1 & #2 you can prob get a better response in the grow section here. But #3 is the resin.

3. To my understanding, the dark brown goop we see in our pipes is liqufied resin. It has high amounts of leftover thc, so when you smoke even a relatively small amount of it you can get a decent high. Unless you have a high tolerance. I smoked resin last night and I was high for about an hour or so.