Do I need an intake fan??

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by chillmode, Jul 2, 2008.

1. I have a question regarding my grow room setup and I wanted to see what the group opinion is...

I have built a (D)4 x (W)8 x (H)6 and it's completely air tight. I have a Vortex 6" inline fan hooked up to my carbon filter and was wondering if I needed an intake fan or not.

I was thinking about cutting a 4x10 or 6x10 and putting a carbon screen over it so that the vortex exhaust fan can pull air through the vents.

I'm relatively new to this growing thing so any advice would be awesome!

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

:smoking:

2. ok, so I understand correctly, your room is airtight as stated.

Are you going to be using this Vortex / Scrubber combo to just scrub the air and recirculate inside your AIRTIGHT grow space? if yes, im assuming you are using a C02 setup?

OR

are you saying you are going to be exhausting the vortex scrubbed air outside of the grow space which would require a passive intake for fresh air to enter the grow space which would negate the airtight grow space? <<<if this is your scenario, then you will NOT need a fan on the intake as the vortex pulling air in should be sufficient to create negative pressure and plenty of airflow. Just make sure your intake is at least twice the size of your vortex exhaust port or have more than one passive intake.

my setup in a closet is similiar. I use a 6" vortex to exhaust the grow space and have 3 different passive intakes bringing in fresh cool air.

regards,
    linedrivr

3. im using 6" fan
    and i got 2 x 6" passive intake holes
    works just fine

good luck

4. with that setup you'll get more airflow with a passive for sure.

5. Linedrivr,