First Time Grow SSH

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by KingBud_420, Jul 4, 2015.

1. Hello to everyone! As stated, this will be my first grow. I've been doing some research for at least 2 months now and I'm a couple weeks away from germing. I'll be leaving the state for a couple days so I'm gonna wait till I get back to give this lady my full attention. I figured it's time to post a journal and take any worthy advice and incorporate it into my game plan.

I'll be building a small box, 2'x2'x4' tall. I plan on growing one plant, Super Silver Haze, and I'll be using CFL's. I am in the process of putting together all of the items.
    I'll be growing in a 3 gal pot, using 1-2 cpu fans, and carbon filters. ImageUploadedByGrasscity Forum1436037833.054839.jpg
    I made this light set up, which can hold 4 CFL's or 8 if I use a socket adapter. The bulbs I have now are 23w/100w for a total of 92 actual watts. Should I run 8 instead? That would give me 184 actual watts. I've read between 100-150, so I'm either above or below...which would be better?

I'll probably use Fox Farms soil with some perlite and add nutes as needed. I plan on growing her wide rather than tall, so I'll be LST'ng as time goes on.

As I get closer I'll ask more questions and I'm always willing to answer as I go. Thanks ahead for any advice and I can't wait to get started!

2. Sorry to bump this, just need some info on the light choices in my original post.

3. Hey there KingBud!

Damn dude, did you fab that light holder yourself? Looks great!

Too start you could definitely get away with 92W. I made a CFL hood that doesn't look nearly as professional as yours, I loaded it with 10 26w CFLs, and that thing was bomb. I loved growing under it, so personally I would start with 4 and then switch to 8 total.

I would use six 6500k CFLs and 2 2700k CFLs for Veg and the exact opposite for flower. That way your plants are getting both the light spectrums they need.