Leaves say harvest time, buds say wait?

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by juke52, Jul 4, 2015.

1. #1 juke52, Jul 4, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2015
    I'm not a complete newbie - I've done a couple of small personal use indoor grows before (1 to 3 plants), but not recently. I've read up on a lot of the advice here on when to harvest, and had good results following it with my previous grows, but I'm having an issue now that is confusing and if it's been addressed here, I couldn't find it.

Here's the issue: the plant has been in 50/50 lighting for 64 days. The strain is Humboldt, growing in Foxfarm Happy Frog soil with Foxfarm organic nutes. Everything has gone fine, plant has been healthy and green with no problems. Within the last week, all the large leaves have been turning yellow and dropping off at an increasing rate, to the point where there are very few left now. It's mostly just buds and small leaves now. I would normally assume that this is a signal from Mother Nature saying "I'm done!", but the buds don't look quite done yet. There are still plenty of white hairs mixed in with the ones beginning to turn orange, and the trichomes are still clear to cloudy - I haven't seen any amber yet.

So basically, it looks like the plant is ready to harvest, but the buds don't appear to be getting the message. Anyone had a similar experience? Any advice? Is it healthy to let it go another couple of weeks? Or should I harvest now, before it really starts dying?
    Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

2. Go with instinct and patience. Sounds like up to a few more days. Depends on strain my man

3. post up some pics, sounds like its fading well

4. Im about to update my grow thread also.

5. As a rule when you think its ready give it another week at least they pack on alot of weight in the last 2 weeks imo 😆