New to organics...... Hows my soil mix sound?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by kush king 902, Jun 27, 2015.

1. Hi everybody my first grow was with coco and canna nutrients but this time for my second grow i want to go organic. here is my soil mix is there anything else i should add or will this take care of me for my first organic grow?

i have used for my soil
    3 bags of promix organic 1 cb ft bags
    1 bag of ewc 1 cb ft bag
    perlite 1cb ft
    dolomite lime 1 cup per cb ft
    3 cups of blood meal
    4 cups of bone meal
    3 cups of kelp meal
    sheep manure 1 cb ft bag
    added liquid karma in with tap water that sat 24 hours and mixed well.

By the time i use this mix it will be cooking for 8 weeks. I was thinking of adding alfalfa meal also at some point and bat guano when i transfer to flower pots. what do you guys think?

2. #3 Sc00byD00bie, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2015
    sounds a little hot but im no expert. where did you get this recipe from?

edit: what's liquid karma?

3. You need 1 cup total amendments per cubic foot, your mix is way too hot. Plus adding liquid karma goes against the whole idea of organics. With organic you do not add any chemical nutrient or else it will kill the soil microbes you worked so hard to create.

4. #5 jerry111165, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2015
    I don't use bottles myself but
    according to the manufacturers ingredients list the product doesn't contain chemical nutrients. Overpriced and unnecessary, sure but it doesn't look like anything that will hurt an organic soil.

He also has around 6 cubic feet of soil between his ProMix, perlite, manure and worm castings.Now, I am not a fan of blood and bone meal myself but between his kelp meal, blood meal and bonemeal he has a total of 10 cups of amendments for all 6 CF of soil... Which isn't even 2 cups of amendments per CF of soil. I wouldn't consider that "hot" myself.