Will we ever be able to see a new color?

Discussion in 'Science and Nature' started by breakingglass, Jun 27, 2015.

1. I assume not but I'm not a scientist or anything so yeah...will we ever be able to?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Why not?

We could use surgery tto add receptors to our eyes. But this might confuse the brain since we weren't born with it.

We can also genetically mmodify humans to have more cones

-yuri

3. The cones that yuri mentioned are the key factor here. The human eye has 3 cones and is thus able to differentiate between a wide array of different colors, however many animals such as cats and dogs only have 2 and are thus restricted in their visual capabilities and they are unable to detect shades in the red spectrum. There are people who are born with 4 or more of these cones and they are able to discern a wider color spectrum so that is the answer to your question, you just have to be born that way. There are other animals as well who are born with more than 3 cones and can see a spectrum beyond what we are capable of visualizing.

4. are there really humans born with extra cones?

I've heard of color blindness but never that.

People are born with webbed feet and tails tho so why not

-yuri

5. My main interest is in surgery/cybernetics

Yea genetic modification is nice for future generation, but people alive are the ones who want progress now. Science progression is based on incentives

I wonder if we will see non medical cybernetics in our lifetimes.

Cybernetics now are almsot always for people who need medical attention. Things like robotic limbs and chips in our brains to combat tarets syndrome or however its sspelled

I even saw a video of a man who had a chip put in his eye as an experimental blindness treatment.

But never anyone adding chips to their body for performance enhancement.

-yuri