How to deal with social anciety?

Discussion in 'General' started by Antonacci44, May 26, 2015.

1. #1 Antonacci44, May 26, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2015
    Edit: The problem has been found. I have a deviated septum. I just naturally have trouble breathing. So um... Thanks for telling me all this weird stuff about anxiety. I guess some problems are actually physical instead of mental.

And no I did not go to the doctor. My mom cured me.

2. Are you simply stressed or do you think you have an anxiety disorder? They're not similar. If you think you have an anxiety disorder you need to see your doctor and try out medication or see a psychologist and come up with coping mechanisms and ways to avoid and deal with your anxiety. If you have a disorder it isn't going to go away, ever. Treat the symptoms and learn to cope.

I've been fighting this battle with GAD for over 10 years. It sucks but it's manageable.

3. #4 Antonacci44, May 26, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2015
    I only have anxiety in my first period. It happens when this kid next to me starts breathing really loud and rapidly. This triggers something in my mimd that makes me feel like I am doing the same. I then start holding my breath and doing weird and shallow inhales. I will then start having panic attacks and clear my throat often because it feels dry.
    I don't know if I consider this a disorder or what since I am not always experiencing it. But it is a problem.
    I have been put on vyvanse 40mg for adhd btw.

Move seats? Some kid making you uncomfortable isn't social anxiety. If you had social anxiety you'd be spooking all day just being around people.

5. #6 Antonacci44, May 26, 2015
    I can't haha. My class if full and all the seats are taken. I guess I could talk to my teacher and work something out.