HELP -- Installing HPS + MH ballasts

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by BonghornLeghorn, Apr 27, 2015.

1. Hi all,

I have a wonderful place to grow some plants. I've done a little bit of cab growing with CFL's, but am switching over to MH+HPS.

First off, I am not unfamiliar with electrical, and the task itself doesn't phase me. However, I've never done ballasts before, and need some guidance on what I should be doing.

I've read that I can wire a HPS ballast, but in order to use MH in them I need to buy special conversion bulbs. The HPS ballast, with the ignitor looks intimidating. Is there any way to install a MH ballast + mogul socket and buy HPS lights with a built in ballast? Is there such a thing?

Can someone show me a tutorial that is fairly straightforward in setting up a HPS + ballast? Additionally, do I need a specialized hood for the light, or will I be able to get away with your typical stainless steel reflector that you find at Home Depot?

The space itself is fairly large, it can comfortably fit 6x 5 gallon buckets, and is about 8 feet tall. Cooling is not an issue in this space, and neither is air flow, both are easily resolved. In summer the doors of the area can stay open for natural light and airflow to come in without worry of pedestrians and other apartment dwellers viewing the plants, and in the winter, the doors stay shut and a 1000w space heater is used attached to a thermostat to warmth. This means my limit for the lights HAVE to be 400w, as I only have 15 amp breakers, am limited to one outlet, and my outlets are 120 volts.

Thanks for the replies, and please see the attached pictures for an idea of the space I have. [​IMG]

DSC_0110.png   DSC_0111.png   DSC_0112.png   DSC_0113.png   DSC_0114.png