questions about hydro setup, please help

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by hazey12, Mar 25, 2015.

1. hello all

i have grown in soil beds a couple of times and i am wanting to try a hydro grow now

i have a 600W MH/HPS system and i will be using a grow tent that is approx

20 inches deep
    3 feet long
    5-6 feet high

i would like to do a SOG grow. my questions are:

-how many gallons do i need for a plant that will be approx 2-3 feet?

-what is the easiest and/or cheapest hydro setup? i am a noob so i want something simple that i can make using possibly only a drill.

-does it matter if the i use a container that is shorter and shallow vs. one that is deeper and taller? like does it matter if the roots are lying flat across vs. kind of hanging down. if something shallow is allowable then i'll have more vertical height in the grow tent to work with.

-if i am hoping to fit about 6 plants in there is it better/easier to use 1 big rubbermaid container that takes up the whole grow area with 6 "basket" thingies on the lid, or 6 individual containers? doesnt each container require a pump + air stone?

thanks for all the help !!

2. Hey there, welcome to hydro I hope you give it a chance. I hope I can answer some of your qs as well, they're good ones.

1. I assume you mean the size of the res, you can get away with 3.5 gallon buckets but it will be a lot of work later on when the plants are drinking a lot! The bigger the res you can work with, the better (account for higher air pump requirements the bigger your res gets)
    2. The easiest and cheapest, IMO, is a passive hydro or hempy bucket. The next simplest IMO again its DWC then NFT.
    3. I do not know if one method for a res is better than the other, I have seen growers use both types with success.