getting ready to mix up

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by califlower, Mar 24, 2015.

1. Firstly, thank you for the plethora of information goin 'round here. As always, there is much sifting that is needed to get past biases, but nonetheless, there is even more to be learned. I have been growing veggies for a few years now but this will be my first organic grow. I haven't needed to do much posting as many questions are already answered, but before I mix everything up I want to be sure I have it right so here goes.

My base mix is going in 25g geo-pots and will be:
    ~25% top soil (purchased locally in bulk and is an excellent quality 80/20 top soil/compost)
    ~10% coco coir
    ~30% pumice
    ~5% biochar
    ~15% compost (from same place as top soil which is aguinaga green in irvine, ca)
    ~15% worm castings (purchased locally from mccrawls red worms)

My nutrient mix is based on Steve Solomon's books which is where I've gotten my info for veggie gardening and consists of:

2 qt Organic Soybean Meal
    1 qt Organic Kelp Meal
    1 pt Feather Meal
    1 pt Fish Meal
    1 qt Soft Rock Phosphate
    1 qt Azomite

I mix my nutrients together before adding to soil and will be adding 3 cups for c.f., however many people I've read just add the nutrients straight to soil without pre-mixing so are these proportions good? I've seen some people like to go heavy on the rock dusts. Also, is it worth incorporating alfalfa meal as well, or do I pretty much have it covered? And anything else that would be worth adding? I've chosen to forego liming and gypsum for the time being but should I consider adding that as well?

2. Why the "forego liming and gypsum"?

Not only are you giving up the pH buffering, but also a very important source of Ca. Some consider Ca as only second to N AFA plant uptake.

I'd be interested in your reasoning behind this omission.

Wet

• Like Like x 2