So far soil seems more complicated than hydro Need a good mix that all i have do is water

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by greenlove216, Mar 22, 2015.

1. Hello, Im new to growing outdoors but I have tried hydro and really like it but wanna try outdoors for the yield and taste. My first experience was going to the local hydro store where the guy convinced me to buy a bag of happy frog and put my hydro seedlings in it, which burnt them right up. I havent been back to that store. So I currently have a near full bag of happy frog, a bag of jiffy mix (walmart), and 10 babies in a germination tray. In the germination tray I have 4 autos and 6 photos. Im in a northern midwestern climate (Ohio). Its still pretty cold here today we where in the 30s, though snow is melting. I found the subcool recipe, but its massive amount of ingredients and he recommends that you leave the mix outside for 30 days which wont work here its will freeze and thaw a few times. So Im looking for a good mix which i will only need to water, and doesnt need as long of a rest period. Does anything like this exist? Please help thanks!

2. well I've never used happy frog or jiffy mix... but I take it that jiffy mix is a peat moss based seed starting mix of some sort. I was going to keep it simple for you and tell you to mix compost and peat moss about 50/50. If the happy frog was too strong mix it in with the jiffy until the mix is lighter and aerated. Happy frog is already amended so you can very well just use that and water with molasses.. or water with just water. I've never used either products but if you want to keep it short n simple... just dilute the happy frog with a peat based mix.

3. Look in the organics section, there are lots of recipes like subcool's (some are better) for water only soil. That cycling is important, though. It doesn't need to happen outside necessarily but it does need to happen or it will burn your plants.