Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Making a tincture from decarbed BHO

Discussion in 'Weed Edibles' started by GordonS3, Feb 26, 2015.

1. My plan is to make my first ever tincture from a purchased concentrate, probably BHO, that I will decarb myself. Or maybe I'll use RSO (which I understand will already be decarbed?).

What I want is something that can be used sublingually and take effect fairly quickly, then last for 2-3 hours. I'm new to concentrates and tinctures, but my understanding is that BHO and RSO will be too sticky to use as-is, and might be more effective when used sublingually if they are bound with alcohol or fat.

Can I just dissolve BHO or RSO in 40/50% alcohol?

Or can I dissolve it in coconut oil and use that? If so, would it be as effective as alcohol?

• Like Like x 1
  2. #3 OneE, Feb 26, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 26, 2015
    You'll figure out that using the everclear to transfer your oil - whether green dragon/bho/rso/qwet - into other oils/butter/creams/syrups is incredibly easy and efficient - allowing you some form of control on the dosing.  The real trick/problem is getting a good decarb on the material before its dissolved since that is the point of no return.  I wouldn't assume that rso is decarbed just because its rso... its probably more decarbed than bho, but probably not to the point that most people would like.