Unending root rot issues

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by Afrikaaner, Nov 21, 2014.

1. So here's the deal. I've been growing for several years now, nothing big, just some nice closet grows for personal use/sharing. Started out with soil at my old place, gave hydro a try with outstanding success. I got a couple of soil and hydro grows under my belt before moving/investing in any serious equipment. Then I moved to my new place. Tried doing hydro again (always DWC), and got root rot. Got more air pumps, concentrated h2o2, etc. Started another hydro grow, got root rot with the h2o2 and extra air. Ok, picked up a chiller. Now I'm running h2o2, lots of air, and temps consistently between 65-68 regardless of air temp. Start my next grow, decide to skip the h2o2/sm-90 and go the beneficial microbe route instead. BOOM! root rot.

Now I'm pissed. Time to start my latest grow. It's winter, so the chiller isn't needed, water is consistently between 61 and 65 degree. I'm currently running a 60 lpm air pump (Hailea v-60) in a single 18 gallon (10 gallons of water in it) tub. This pump is enough to keep 10+ plants happy, nevermind a single site DWC tub. I light proofed my tub using black/white poly all around and on top. It is definitely 99% light proof, so there should be no algae. I started off with not even RO water, i went a step further and am using deionized water. I bleached my old equipment before starting with highly chlorinated water for 2 days. I baked my hydroton for 2 hours at 350 before using it. I innoculated my res with aquashield, GH's subculture M and subculture B. Everything looks great for about a month, until BOOM! root rot explosion one day...