Where do rights come from?

Discussion in 'Politics' started by yurigadaisukida, Nov 17, 2014.

1. When someone says, "you have a right to your own life", how can you prove that?

I can just as easily say you don't have a right to life.

Where do rights come from? Society? Government? God?

-yuri

2. I'd simply say you are the king of your own castle. Right is subjective so I guess I should say everybody is free to do as they please but bare responsibility for their actions regardless of their will. Though I guess right and free have different context; I have the right to freedom and happiness is different than free to be happy. Maybe, your inalienable rights are akin to natural law and what you are free to do correlates with legal rights.

There is a philosophical side this could take or a political one.

I think thats a prevalent subject of moral philosophy/ethics

Of which I am an amateur

Man-made, says I, but that doesn't make them any less credible

4. So then, rights come from "society" or more acurately the general.mindset and accepted natural laws by the majoritt

-yuri

Society has a tendency to run away with things

I think as a natural creature, the psychologically healthy human being has an innate understanding of 'rights'

He/She may not agree with them, or act in accordance to them, but I think they are understood

6. #6 Vicious, Nov 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 18, 2014

I hate the word but yes, I believe rights are a social construct. Much like equality and gender. But again, I guess it comes down to semanitics and what is inalienable. I believe there must be civilization and nurtured society for their to be Rights, however that doesn't affect freedom. Example, I wouldn't argue hunters and gathers several hundred thousand years ago had rights but they were certainly free.

7. Definitely not government or society.

8. It's part of the social contract.