Dark Splotch on Leaf of Seedling

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by didjdudjs, Oct 30, 2014.

1. After a few minutes of searching I haven't found anything in the "Absolute Beginners" section that really pertains to my current situation. It is thus.

My seedlings, at one month, are VERY tiny for their age (about 4-6" tall) and only have 3 sets of leaves. I figured it was because of the Miracle Gro potting mix, which I now understand is bad for cannabis seedlings due to the time-release nature of its nutrients.

I just transplanted the girls yesterday into their final containers, and opted this time to use a soilless mix (minus the vermiculite). While I was transplanting them I noticed that one of my tallest plants had a dark greyish-purple splotch. I was concerned but decided to wait till morning before investigating.

The splotch has tripled in size overnight. I took a picture and am attaching it in this topic. Can anyone offer any wisdom? Is it a mould or fungus that could hurt the rest of my plants? Should it be removed? Dare I remove a leaf from a seedling so small?

Whatever it is, it's spreading at a noticeable rate every hour, so I need to know as quick as possible. Thank you!

(Apologies for the image quality. This is how my Galaxy S5 lens reacts to the HPS lights I guess)

Attached Files:

2. It's really hard to tell with that picture. Does the new growth look health? If so I would just let her settle into the new soil for a bit without trying to fix anything.

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

3. Don't take pictures under HPS lights, if you take a picture under normal lighting, we can help you much better.

4. Knock the light off and take a pic

5. Apologies. Here it is under normal skies.

Attached Files:

6. The leaves look very pale, what type of water and nutes are you using...?