Not Identifying with the Self/Ego

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by schuy7, Oct 16, 2014.

1. #1 schuy7, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 16, 2014
    If I were to ask you... "Who are you?" How would you answer? Most people will be somewhat puzzled, but come up with something like "I'm John, I'm 25 years old, I'm a guy, I work as an accountant, and I'm a pot smoker."

For much of my life, "who are you?" was something I could never answer. Everybody around me acted differently. They were satisfied with identifying with their age, gender, perceived personality, clique, or whatever. But I was never satisfied with a label or identification. I always felt like it limited who I was and I've always felt infinite. 

In the last two years I've been fortunate enough to come across tremendous wisdom. Over that time, I was able to silence the mind and the answers became very clear. Once you do not identify with your thoughts, you realize that the being within you is the same being within all existence. Just think, why would you identify with your thoughts? Your body and its organs have many functions, one of which is to think. Your body also removes waste from your system. Does that mean you should identify with that process? 

Most people on this planet are addicted to thinking, and they have no idea how big of an issue it is because it's perceived to be normal because most people are that way. Our society exasperates qualities that enable a person to think and become addicted to it, with television, the internet, sugar foods, and so many other things. How do you know it's an addiction? When you don't realize it's a problem and you don't know how to stop. Most people who are compulsive thinkers literally cannot stop thinking. Just the idea of not thinking scares the hell out of them. They end up thinking about how to stop thinking.