150 Watt Hps Dresser Grow

Discussion in 'Micro Grows' started by integrajosh, Aug 9, 2014.

1. Hey everyone, I'm new to posting on grasscity but I've done a lot of research on this site and its helped alot. This is my first attempt at growing so any advice is appreciated too. I built my grow box by gutting out an old dresser, glueing the drawer faces to the front, putting hinges and magnets on back door, and i also cut a 4" hole for exhaust and four 4" holes for passive intake. I used white caulking to seal up cracks on the inside and lined the walls with mylar. Used some hooks and small chains to hang the light. Running 4" 175cfm inline fan sitting on big can lite carbon filter. Light is a sun system 150 hps, running 24 hour for now. Using 3 gallon smart pot filled with fox farms ocean forest. I have a small fan inside the box blowing on the plant/light, keeps temps around 80-85, humidity 45-50%. I ordered all my feminised seeds from the single seed centre, they arrived a week after shipped. I germinated the northern lights#5/haze last saturday, so the pic is week 1 of growth. My growing area is only 20"L x 20"w x 16"d, so im prbly going to have to do some serious training as it grows. I'll keep everyone posted with week by week pics.
    Thanks for looking 1407603307734.jpg 1407603579148.jpg 20140712_171456.jpg 20140713_155315.jpg 1407603845066.jpg

2. Might want to use some 6500k cfls before the hps

3. I wonder if its worth it getting a mh conversion bulb?

4. Thanks for stopping in, i'll keep updating as she grows

5. good lookin set up :smoke:

If you decide on a high K lighting for veg...one idea is that you can get a big CFL that fits a mogul socket(like you have) and just get an adapter to bypass the ballast and plug it into the wall, only for running the cfl of course. I hope that made sense...just another option instead of having to get a mh ballast if yours happens to hps only.

good luck on your grow! :hello: